July 28, 2011

CCNB Action Press Release

For Immediate Release


Fredericton -- On Monday, August 1, 16 groups saying “NO!” to shale gas from around the province will join together in the Capital City for a March, as part of an Atlantic-wide Day of FRACtion.

Many community-based organizations have formed around the province to voice their opposition to shale gas, and now they are coming together as a unified voice to send their message to our provincial government that the shale gas industry is not welcome in our communities.

"We are lucky, for most, our province – our home – is supported by clean drinking water, pristine rivers and lakes, fresh air, and green fields", says Stephanie Merrill, Freshwater Protection Coordinator with CCNB Action. “Shale gas exploration and development threaten our home”.

The grassroots momentum against shale gas is growing rapidly across the province.  "The level of local involvement in this issue is very encouraging," says Merrill, who leads CCNB Action’s Shale Gas Alert Campaign. “It means people are paying attention, getting angry, getting active and doing something about it. They are protecting their homes for present and future generations from permanent damage”, she continues.

The March, which is open to the public, will begin at 12:00 noon at the Old Burial Grounds. Marchers will parade along Woodstock Rd. and King St., down Carleton St., across the Pedestrian Bridge, along the Riverfront Trail, onto Regent and down Queen to the Legislature.

At the Legislature, there will be speakers from various groups and communities across the province, including CCNB Action, Maliseet Grand Council, Our Environment Our Choice, Concerned Citizens of Penobsquis and Sierra Club Atlantic.

This is an excellent media opportunity.

The Day of FRACtion March is co-organized by 16 community groups.  For contact information for each group, contact Stephanie Merrill, CCNB Action, 458.8747


Ban Fracking NB: Terri Telasco

CCNB Action: Stephanie Merrill

Council of Canadians, Saint John Chapter: Carol Ring

Friends of Mount Carleton: Jean-Louis Deveau

Friends of the UNB Woodlot: Mark D’Arcy or Caroline Lubbe D’Arcy

Hampton Water First: Chris Rendell

Harvey Environmental Action Team: Terri Wishart

Maliseet Grand Council: Alma Brooks

New Brunswickers Against Fracking: Mary de La Valette

Our Environment, Our Choice: Maxime Daigle or Denise Melanson

Penniac Anti Shale Gas Organization: Armand Paul

Quality of Life Initiative: Otty Forgrave

Sierra Club Atlantic Water Committee: Hazel Richardson

Sustainable Energy Group: Sam Arnold

Taymouth Community Association: Jim Emberger

Transition Town Woodstock: Steve Helle


 © 2018 NBEN / RENB